SCENIC ROUTE BAKERY | BREAKFAST

Restaurant: Scenic Route | Twitter: @SRBakeryDSM | 350 E Locust St #104, Des Moines, IA 50309 | 6/10/2017

Rating?

Grace: 4/5

Josh: 3.94/5

Why Scenic Route?

Josh:  I’ve attempted to go to Scenic Route twice. I wasn’t able to go because they are closed on Sunday’s (yeah I forgot both times). We remembered on a Saturday so we went after Farmers’ Market.

Grace: I looooooove Scenic Route. They’re super close to my office so I go all the time and brag about it to Josh 🙂

Scenic Route Bakery, Des Moines, Iowa, Coffee Shops, Coffee, Cafe, Croissants, Patio, East Village

The Meal

Josh: It was hot and I was sweaty from walking around so I wanted something light and easy. I decided on an iced mocha (gotta have coffee) and a Salami and Mozzarella Croissant.

Croissants, Iced Mocha, Espresso, Scenic Route Bakery, Des Moines, Iowa, Coffee Shops, Coffee, Cafe, Croissants, Patio, East Village

The iced mocha was fantastic. After having iced mocha’s at numerous establishments around Des Moines, I realize that it’s pretty hard to mess up. They all taste relatively the same to me so they are all good. Don’t trust me basically.

salami and mozzarella croissant, Scenic Route Bakery, Des Moines, Iowa, Coffee Shops, Coffee, Cafe, Croissants, Patio, East Village

The salami and mozzarella croissant intrigued me so I had to get my paws on it. It was very flaky and I made a mess over the table, floor, and my pants. It took me awhile to get the salami flavor as it was deep inside the croissant. The cheese was baked throughout the croissant so I was able to taste that frequently. When I did get a salami taste, I enjoyed it. All the components really came together once they were in the same bite. I do think there could have been more salami inside but it was still a delightful, messy as hell treat.

Scenic Route Bakery, Des Moines, Iowa, Coffee Shops, Coffee, Cafe, Croissants, Patio, East Village, salami and mozzarella croissant

Grace: I will get yelled at for this, but whatever: Scenic Route Croissants > La Mie Croissants. There. I said it.

Scenic Route’s croissants are the closest thing I’ve had to European croissants (I went to Italy once, so I’m an expert on the subject, obviously). They are deliciously crispy and flaky on the outside and soft and chewy and so flavorful on the inside. And they’re not greasy like La Mie’s get. I got a plain croissant and it was heavenly. Their chocolate ones are good too, but plain is the best.

plain croissant, Scenic Route Bakery, Des Moines, Iowa, Coffee Shops, Coffee, Cafe, Croissants, Patio, East Village

Scenic Route Bakery, Des Moines, Iowa, Coffee Shops, Coffee, Cafe, Croissants, Patio, East Village, plain croissant

I also had a Rosemary Lemonade. It was so hot outside and nothing about any sort of coffee sounded appealing to me. This lemonade was tart as hell but so refreshing, and the rosemary was a nice touch. I was worried it might be too strong; luckily, it blended perfectly with the tart lemonade.

lemonade, rosemary lemonade, Scenic Route Bakery, Des Moines, Iowa, Coffee Shops, Coffee, Cafe, Croissants, Patio, East Village

Atmosphere, Service, Price

Grace: Scenic Route is located in the East Village in downtown Des Moines, and is very cute and welcoming. There’s a glass bakery case filled with tempting treats, huge floor-to-ceiling windows, and vintage farmhouse stuff on the walls. It’s super cozy.

The baristas are always friendly and knowledgeable about what they offer (there’s always a weekly coffee special and the menu changes frequently). My only complaint is that I think it’s a bit pricey; however, it’s worth it for those damn croissants.

Scenic Route Bakery Case, pastries, baked goods, Scenic Route Bakery, Des Moines, Iowa, Coffee Shops, Coffee, Cafe, Croissants, Patio, East Village

Josh: Scenic Route is in the East Village and is closed on Sunday’s. Other than that, it looks like a normal coffee shop. It has coffee shop like decor with baked goods. It’s clean, large, and has a patio to the side. It’s in a good location and has a lot of windows so you can people watch outside.

Scenic Route Bakery, Des Moines, Iowa, Coffee Shops, Coffee, Cafe, Croissants, Patio, East Village

It was a pleasant experience and I will be back on a Sunday dammit Saturday.

Scenic Route Bakery, Des Moines, Iowa, Coffee Shops, Coffee, Cafe, Croissants, Patio, East Village

Leave a Reply

