KRUNKWICH RAMEN HOUSE | LUNCH

Restaurant: Krunkwich Ramen House | Twitter: @krunkwich | 621 Des Moines Street, Des Moines, IA 50309 | 12/11/15

Rating?

Grace: 4.7 Stars

Josh: 4.72 Stars

Why Krunkwich?

Josh: We were Christmas shopping in the East Village and wanted to grab a bite to eat. Grace suggested Krunkwich so off we went. She’s been but I never had and I trust her judgement. I’ve heard good things (besides the grand opening) so it was go time.

Grace: We were in the East Village doing some Christmas shopping & it seemed like the perfect time to grab lunch here! It’s a quick walk from East Village faves like Raygun & Allspice (which you should also visit) and on a 55 degree December day in Iowa, there’s really no excuse not to take a hike.

The Meal

Josh: When I think of ramen, I think of sadness, poorness, and the inability to cook. The ramen I ate in college meant that I was the scum of the Earth. I was so low on the totem pole and so poor that I was forced to eat a dry package of noodles with “seasoning” packed with enough salt to kill a small animal. I can’t think of a happy moment eating ramen…only tear soaked nights where I questioned my life as I cried myself to sleep.

This ramen is happy. This ramen is $9 a bowl and god dammit I can afford it. Hell yeah.

I got the #1 Krunkwich Ramen. It had Chicken Tare, Pork Belly, Pulled Pork, Nori (seaweed), Green Onion, and Fish Cake. I also added a soft boiled egg for 75 extra cents. 100% worth it by the way.

Krunkwich Ramen Bowl, Des Moines, Restaurants, Ramen, Krunkwich, East Village

It. Was. So. Good. The broth was so flavorful and all the flavors blended in so wonderfully. The noodles were cooked to perfection and looked gorgeous. They weren’t skinny and stringy but thick and long. Damn good craftsmanship. The meat was well cooked and seasoned well. My piece of Pork Belly was fatty, flavorful, and tasted like God’s belly. That good.

And it was filling! I can usually eat a decent amount of food and I didn’t think one bowl would fill me up. Nope…I was wrong. It was filling and satisfying.

Krunkwich Ramen Bowl, Des Moines, Restaurants, Ramen, Krunkwich, East Village

Grace: I got Chicken Ramen. Roasted chicken, cabbage, corn (on the cob!), green onions, chicken broth, amazing spices, and noodles. Oh God the noodles. These are not crappy $1 ramen noodles that you eat in college. These babies are like 1.5 feet long, thick, and the most delicious noodles I’ve ever had in my life. I hope we live downtown someday if only to be closer to these noodles. Have I made myself clear?

Look how pretty they serve it:

Krunkwich Ramen Bowl, Des Moines, Restaurants, Ramen, Krunkwich, East Village

All of the flavors in this bowl are so good. I did choose to get a soft-boiled egg in my ramen this time, and I shouldn’t have. I’m squeamish about under-cooked eggs, but I thought I’d be brave…I just wound up eating around it once I cut it open. The yolk grosses me out. I should get over that since I’m marrying a man who loves sunny-side up, runny eggs, but what can you do?

I couldn’t finish mine, so I didn’t get to see the kitty at the bottom of the bowl. Sad day.

Atmosphere, Service, Price

Grace: Krunkwich is so tiny! The chef there, Sam Auen, has given a few interviews indicating that he plans to use that space as an incubator for new concepts, so the tiny-ness is good in that aspect. It’s so cute in there & seats probably 30 people max. You order at the counter, pretty basic, and it’s super affordable – you get a ton of food!

Krunkwich Ramen Bowl, Des Moines, Restaurants, Ramen, Krunkwich, East Village

My only complaint is the outside. Both times I’ve been to Krunkwich, it’s been rainy, and the steps/deck leading up to the door gets SO slick. It doesn’t feel safe. I don’t want to fall. So if it’s raining when you go (and you SHOULD go), watch yo self.

Krunkwich Ramen Bowl, Des Moines, Restaurants, Ramen, Krunkwich, East Village

Josh: This place is tiny. I wouldn’t say it’s Brickhouse Cafe tiny, but pretty close. There’s one long standing-only table in the middle of the restaurant and about 10 or so 4-person tables. That’s it. You order at the counter, take a number and they bring it to you. Simple service.

Krunkwich Ramen Bowl, Des Moines, Restaurants, Ramen, Krunkwich, East Village

The outside isn’t necessarily appealing. There’s a banner attached to the deck with no official sign signifying this is a place to eat. I also don’t think there’s a wheelchair ramp which seems pretty illegal…but what do I know (cough ADA cough).

Krunkwich Ramen Bowl, Des Moines, Restaurants, Ramen, Krunkwich, East Village

The prices are great and the staff is very friendly. They have adorable cat pictures on their walls and oh my goodness they are adorable. I will be visiting this place before winters end. This is my new place to get a nice, warm bowl of soup/ramen. Yummy.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

