BAR LOUIE | DINNER

Restaurant: Bar Louie | 7105 Mills Civic Parkway Suite 150, West Des Moines, IA 50266  | Twitter: @BarLouie 

IMG_4605

Rating?

Grace: 2.5/5 Stars

Josh: 3.00/5 Stars

Why Bar Louie?

Josh: Grace has been here before and she’s said some pretty good things. They apparently have a good special on Tuesdays? We went on a Friday after registering at Williams-Sonoma for wedding stuff. Though Grace denied me a couple of items…she let me scan everything so it was great! Horray for small victories!

Grace: Josh had never been there, and I recommended it. As you can see from my rating, I missed my mark. What can you do? We were already in the area, as he said (yay registering!), so we thought why not!

For everyone’s reference, the Tuesday deal: between like…5 & 7 pm, you can get $5 specialty burgers and $2.50 draws. Dirt. Cheap. It’s so good. It totally makes up for their horrendous service. More on that later.

The Meal

IMG_4619

Josh: We started off splitting off some Chicken Nachos. They don’t compare to Victor’s but then again…whose do? I like how they offered it with guacamole and sour cream without charging extra. Some places charge you and it’s like…why? The nachos were good though. Some of the chips were bare but that’s where the guac and sour cream come in handy. It was very filling and I would have this for my actual meal next time.

IMG_4617

For my main meal I had the “Blue Louie”. It had blue cheese, bacon and buffalo sauce. Like I said in my El Bait Shop review, a bacon blue burger is my choice of burger almost anywhere. The more blue cheese the better.

Bar Louie, Jordan Creek Town Center, West Des Moines, IA

The burger was pretty good! I love how they offer tater tots or fries with your meal. Tater tots are an underrated side dish that need some damn respect. The buffalo sauce gave it a nice kick and it was an overall good burger. Not a great burger, but a good burger.

Bar Louie, Jordan Creek Town Center, West Des Moines, IA
8-Bit Pale Ale was a great beer choice

GraceJosh covered the Nachos pretty well, I agree with everything he said! I love nachos so much. These were good! Nothing to knock your socks off, but solid nachos. They actually filled me up a lot; I wound up taking most of my burger home!

Bar Louie, Jordan Creek Town Center, West Des Moines, IA

The burger. It was fine. I got the Southwest Burger with Guac, Pepperjack Cheese, & Japalenos. It was a good burger, but the guac tasted…off. Too sweet. Tater tots were delicious!

Bar Louie, Jordan Creek Town Center, West Des Moines, IA

Atmosphere, Service, Price

GraceI warned Josh coming in that the service here is terrible. It was. I think over the course of our meal we had 4 different servers? I hate that shit. The servers all just like…don’t care. Took a while to get service, get drinks, get plates cleared, get a check. Blah.

Bar Louie, Jordan Creek Town Center, West Des Moines, IA

The atmosphere inside Bar Louie is very cool; lots of black/metallics/nailhead things. I like it a lot. It is obscenely expensive for mediocre bar food, but I’d go back if a friend wanted to meet there or something. Only on a Tuesday, though 😉

Josh: Bar Louie is our first review that is not locally in Iowa. Bar Louie is actually a chain found in many other states. That doesn’t necessarily matter, but it’s worth noting.

Bar Louie, Jordan Creek Town Center, West Des Moines, IA
dat ass doe

For having “bar food”, this place is pretty expensive. Both the nachos and burgers were over $10 each! I’ve had cheaper burgers with better taste so that’s never a plus. I also wasn’t a fan of the “seat yourself” service. There wasn’t a sign saying “please wait to be seated” or “seat yourself”. Being a first timer, I was confused and a little anxious.

Bar Louie, Jordan Creek Town Center, West Des Moines, IA

I did like the atmosphere and decor though. It had a nice vibe to it. The outside bar looked pretty neat and I would like to go out there when the weather is warmer. I would come again if they had a special going on or if I was with a group of friends.

Bar Louie, Jordan Creek Town Center, West Des Moines, IA

Leave a Reply

