GATEWAY MARKET | LUNCH

on

Restaurant: Gateway Market | 2002 Woodland Avenue, Des Moines, IA | Twitter: @GatewayMarket | 5/25/15

Rating?

Grace: 4.75 Stars

Josh: 3.50 Stars

Why did we choose Gateway Market?

Grace: Memorial Day! We went on Memorial Day a few years ago and then walked around Gray’s Lake…we did it again this Memorial Day. Also because we knew Gateway Market is #OnFleek.

Josh: It was Memorial Day! The first time I ever want to Gateway was on Memorial Day a couple years back when Grace introduced me to it. I wanted to go out to lunch on Memorial Day so this place just popped into my head. Grace agreed and we ate.

The Meal

Flour Chips & Guac, Gateway Market & Cafe, Des Moines, IA

Grace: We split chips & guac. Gateway Market Flour Chips & Guac > Tasty Tacos Flour Chips & Guac. I will not apologize. Gateway’s chips are crispier and saltier and their guac is more garlic-y (word? It is now.). Then I got the Gateway Burger. It’s a classic: beef burger with all the fixin’s, plus seasoned fries. I’m pretty much convinced that anything George Formaro touches turns to gold, and this is no exception. The bun is the best bun I’ve ever had; so soft and chewy and amazing. And the burger is always great. As is everything at Gateway (I’m also very partial to their Pad Thai, just wasn’t feeling it on this particular day). The only reason for the low rating is the fries were kind of meh. I always tell myself I should get a different side but then I always forget. First world problems.

Gateway Burger, Gateway Market & Cafe, Des Moines, IA

Josh: We started off with an appetizer of chips and guacamole. The guacamole tasted like guacamole (I can’t taste a difference for some reason. Maybe if you placed two different guacamoles in front of me and I tried them one after another, I’d taste a difference. But we went to Tasty Tacos a couple weeks ago and they tasted the same. I don’t know). The chips were good! They were crispy (compared to Tasty Tacos) and salty. If I had to compare, I liked Tasty Tacos guacamole and chip combo more than Gateway’s. That’s not a knock on Gateways as theirs is still good. It’s just an opinion is all.

All American Burger, Gateway Market & Cafe, Des Moines, IA

For my main meal, I ordered the All-American Burger. I’ve had it before (actually, it’s the only thing I’ve ever ordered here. Damn I’m boring). As for the burger…I was a little sad. The first time I ever had Gateway I had this exact burger. When I finished that burger, I told Grace it was one of the best burgers I have ever eaten in my life. Biting into this burger years later, I did not have that same sensation. I keep trying to get that same high I had years ago and I come up short. It’s rather depressing honestly. Maybe I need to give up on my dream on reliving that magical moment of my first time. Like they always say…The first time is a onetime feeling. The fries were OK. Nothing special. This is a pretty depressing review 😦

Atmosphere, Service, Price

Panoramic, Gateway Market & Cafe, Des Moines, IA

Grace: I just love Gateway. It’s so open and casual, and I like the counter service at this one. I’ve never met a grumpy employee there; everyone is always peppy and upbeat! It’s fun to walk around the market afterwards also. The price is not bad at all, especially since you’re getting everything organic (I think? I’ll still pay…it’s so delicious). GO THERE.

Gateway Market & Cafe, Des Moines, IA

Josh: This place is a café and a grocery store in one. When you walk into Gateway Café, you have to order up front, get a number and find your own table. I’ve explained my frustrations and confusion of this service in my Smokey D’s review on the tipping process and such. Other than that minor factor, it’s a really cool place! It’s a nice area and I like the fact that it’s also an organic-y food store connected to it. The prices were decent (my burger was $9.99 and the guacamole was $5.99). That seems pretty standard for a burger and appetizer so I’m not complaining. The Café is clean and I have nothing further to say. Done.

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

